Roy Babbington • Ian Carr • Karl Jenkins • John Marshall • Ray Russell • Brian Smith

The groundbreaking UK band Nucleus were one of the very first jazz/rock fusion groups, forming in 1969 and releasing their first album in 1970. During their lifetime, the band recorded 13 albums for labels like Vertigo and Capitol, among others. The band was founded by trumpeter Ian Carr. he recruited musicians for the band in the autumn of 1969. The timing was perfect: the world was ready for Nucleus and other early bands who were combining the energy and excitement of rock with jazz instrumentation, like Miles Davis, Tony Williams’ Lifetime and Soft Machine.



RUNE 173/174

"Now this is something special!! Cuneiform has just hit the jackpot with this 2 CD set of a previously unreleased seminal British fusion band Nucleus. This is an astounding release and a must have for every fan of 70s fusion. The sound quality is very good and the performances are excellent. Highly recommended!" – Sea Of Tranquility

This never before released concert, recorded May 25th, 1971 and licensed from Radio Bremen, captures the band at an early peak and with an interesting lineup: Carr, Karl Jenkins-piano & oboe, Brian Smith-tenor & soprano sax, flute & percussion, Ray Russell-guitar, Roy Babbington-bass & John Marshall-drums. Most notably, Russell never recorded with the band, and his short tenure with Nucleus was completely unknown until now. This fine slice of vital, exciting jazz/rock includes some wonderful archival photos supplied by John Marshall and liner notes by Aymeric Leroy.

Buy this album

For press and media: cover art and high resolution images are available below for download (click thumbnail, right-click image and select "Save As.."). Please credit the photographer (when available) and "Courtesy of Cuneiform Records". For more information, click here.

Press releases are not available at this time.

facebook twitter
Cuneiform Records 2014

Subscribe to Cuneiform's newsletter!